Executive Order Affecting Visa Travel to the United States


President Trump signed an Executive Order on January 27th temporarily suspending entry into the United States of foreign nationals from seven countries under section 212(f) of the Immigration and Nationality Act. The Executive Order imposes on nationals of certain designated countries a 90-day bar on entry into the United States.  This bar also includes a 90-day prohibition on visa issuance.  These countries, as designated by Congress or the Secretary of Homeland Security, are:  Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya, and Yemen.  We will announce any other changes affecting travelers to the United States as soon as that information is available.

Beginning January 27, 2017, travelers who have nationality or dual nationality of one of these countries will not be permitted for 90 days to enter the United States or be issued an immigrant or nonimmigrant visa. Those nationals or dual nationals holding valid immigrant or nonimmigrant visas will not be permitted to enter the United States during this period.

The Executive Order does not apply to U.S. citizens.  U.S. citizens, although they might also have another nationality, are required to use their U.S. passport when entering and departing the United States.

Visa interviews will generally not be scheduled for nationals of these countries during this period.  If you are a national, or dual national, of one of these countries, please do not schedule a visa appointment or pay any visa fees at this time. If you already have an appointment scheduled, please DO NOT ATTEND your appointment as we will not be able to proceed with your visa interview. Please note that certain travel for official governmental purposes, related to official business at or on behalf of designated international organizations, on behalf of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, or by certain officials is not subject to this suspension.

Please continue to monitor the Embassy Baghdad website  www.iq.usembassy.gov and www.travel.state.gov for further updates.